top of page

The Ipod Is No More

http://bit.ly/2w6N8wH - Original article can be found at this link.

The article above describes the fall of the popular Apple music player, Ipod. While the Ipod touch will apparently be remaining on the market, for those of us who were around for the release of the first "click-wheel" Ipod remember the joys of having one, and how cool you were if your parents got you one for Christmas. It was the thing to own in my middle school group, and one of my best memories of growing up is when my parents finally gave me my first one as a present for my thirteenth birthday. I've been addicted to listening to music at almost all times ever since that day.

The source article, entitled Goodbye Ipod, and Thanks For All the Tunes states, "The iPod died slowly, then all at once. After nearly 16 years on the market, more than 400 million units sold, and one Cupertino company launched into the stratosphere on its back, Apple quietly pulled the iPod Nano and Shuffle out of its virtual stores today. " For me, and perhaps many others in my age group, this is the saddening end of an era and many memories. For me, these are memories of songs shared with my friends, and emotional connections between songs and experiences in my life. From the day I received my first IPod until now, I have not gone one day without taking my earbuds with me everywhere I go. The Ipod was my gateway into discovering one of my greatest loves in life: music. It is with a great amount of nostalgia and sadness that I say goodbye to the Ipod, even though I use my phone as a music player these days.

1st Ipod-photo (c) Katie Edmisten

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page